Skip to main content

Spears School of Business

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

In service since 1937

One of the nation’s oldest programs


Oklahoma A&M President Henry G. Bennett saw a need for curriculum in hotel administration. Courses in food, nutrition, meal management, institutional administration, architecture and engineering formed the School of Hotel and Restaurant Administration. The program included 30 weeks of supervised employment in a hotel or similar institution.


By 1942, a restaurant management course was added with the College Cafeteria and Murray Hall as laboratories.


In 1950, the Union Club Hotel, now known as the Atherton Hotel, opened and has since been an integral component of the program, serving as the professional training ground for hotel operations and guest services.


John J. MacAllister, or “Mr. Mac”, the HTM director from 1955-1972, started Hospitality Days in 1956, an annual gathering planned and executed by students. This event brings alumni back to share their experiences and allows students to meet with hospitality and tourism industry professionals at a career fair.


In 1991, the second floor of Human Sciences West was completed, giving the school two food service laboratories, a demonstration style classroom, a quick service restaurant and Taylor’s Dining Room.

Embracing the future

Preparing the next generation of hospitality leaders


In the fall of 2016, the north wing of Human Sciences was opened, moving the school into offices on the third floor and opening new facilities for our students. These new facilities provide students with a multitude of opportunities and hands-on learning experiences including:


  • Dick Autry and Jim Anderson Culinary Skills Lab
  • Marriott Teaching Kitchen
  • Jimmy’s Egg, Braum’s, Johnnies Charcoal Broiler and EB Emerging Brands Inc
  • Hal Smith Restaurants Demonstration Classroom
  • Pappas Restaurants Reception Room
  • Directors Conference Room
  • Keith and Rebecca Ashburn Student Study Room
  • Wayne Hirst Center for Beverage Education
  • Taylor’s Restaurant
  • Planet Orange
  • Bob and Sylvia Slater Administrative Suite

After 80 years of being a leader in global hospitality and tourism education, the school changed its name to the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management in 2017. The new name represents the full array of educational opportunities available within the program:


  • Event planning
  • Lodging management
  • Food studies
  • Beverage management

In July 2019, the school joined the OSU Spears School of Business to create more synergy for collaborative educational efforts between HTM and business degree programs. OSU administration agreed that HTM’s students would be best served by greater access to courses, programs and organizations available through the business school.


Current and Former Directors


  • Daisy Purdy, 1937-1955
  • John J. “Mac” MacAllister, 1955-1971
  • Baker Bokorney, 1972-1991
  • Ray Kavanaugh, 1992– 1997
  • Patrick J. Moreo, 1998-2006
  • Richard Ghiselli, 2007–2009
  • Bill Ryan, 2010-2013
  • Sue Williams, 2013-2014
  • Ben Goh, 2014-2018
  • Li Miao, 2018-2020
  • Brij Thapa, 2020-present
Back To Top