Skip to main content

Spears School of Business

Open Main MenuClose Main Menu

Oklahoma Hospitality Foundation awards scholarships to OSU students

Wednesday, September 14, 2022

Eleven undergraduate students from Oklahoma State University’s School of Hospitality and Tourism Management are receiving scholarships from the Oklahoma Hospitality Foundation (OHF). A total of $33,900 was awarded to students who are pursuing a career in restaurant, culinary, hotel and hospitality management.


Students receiving the scholarships are Kate Barclay, Erica Besch, Samantha Cloud, Cheyenne Hampton, Gracie Haney, Mikayla Herrera, Chloe Oden, Alex Royce, Drew Van Vors, Sadie Walker and Jaxon Walters.


“We are very proud of our hospitality and tourism management students as they continuously exemplify their commitment to excellence,” said Dr. Brijesh Thapa, professor and head of the School of Hospitality and Tourism Management. “The scholarships will be of tremendous assistance to our students especially this year, and we are extremely grateful to OHF, ORA and OHLA for their annual commitment to the HTM program at OSU.”


The Oklahoma Hospitality Foundation is a charitable organization benefiting the restaurant, lodging and tourism industries in Oklahoma. The foundation awarded the scholarships on behalf of the Oklahoma Restaurant Association (ORA) and the Oklahoma Hotel and Lodging Association (OHLA).


The OSU scholarship recipients included sophomores, juniors and seniors. Applicants were required to have performed a minimum of 250 hours of related work experience in the hospitality field and submit two letters of recommendation. Additionally, applicants submitted a 500-word essay explaining their reason for applying, why they are worthy of the scholarship, an explanation of their work experience and their intended goals in pursuing a hospitality career path.


Visit the HTM website for more information about OSU’s School of Hospitality and Tourism Management.

Back To Top